The Quest for An Authentic Life

I am writing this morning after a powerful weekend up at the lake with my family. Frank and I are in deep discussions about how we want to live our lives.  We’ve been blessed with incredible abundance, in so many ways.  Our cup runneth over.  Our love, support, and abundance gives us, and specifically me, more choices that I ever thought possible. Choices on how I want to spend my days… live out my passions… and contribute to the world…

And while it all seems like happy, dreamy conversations, what I’m learning (or re-learning, rather) is that the power of choice is complex.

  • When we stand in a space of believing we have no choice, we make the simple, uncomplicated choice to keep doing things the same old way.  Life is simple.  We minimize our risk, uncertainty, and potential for failure.
  • When we stand instead, in the space of seeing our choices, realizing that we can be/do/have whatever we desire — we must be willing to change to meet those choices.

And that is complex.  Often challenging. Sometimes met with adversity (both from within ourselves, as well as from the outer world).

Just this morning I was pondering both the challenge and the reward of living an authentic life, when I received a message from a friend and client, Renae Lauterbach.  Renae entered a contest on a blog and was asking her friends to read her entry, and if we liked it, to make a commend on the blog — thereby putting in our support for her to win the contest.  I read her entry and it spoke directly to this question of living authentically.  It inspired me, and I thought it might inspire you too.  Here’s here beautiful entry…

http://sandygrason.typepad.com/magnificentmoment/2010/02/renae.html

If you like her blog, be sure to leave a quick comment. She’s hoping to win a spot in Sandy Grason’s Fabulous Formula 2.0 Workshop.

ALSO!  Another synchronous event is happening today…  My friend Michael Bungay Stanier is launching his fun and provocative book, DO MORE GREAT WORK.

(If you pick it up today, you’ll also get his wonderful eBook “Be Courageous,” which regularly sells for $25, for F*R*E*E.)

In short, Michael’s message is to “Stop the busy work.  And start the work that matters.” (Wow, can I so relate.)  This is a fun, inspiring read with lots of fun exercises you can do to better know, value, and leverage your greatest asset – YOU!

To me, this book is about Living Authentically, though he doesn’t specifically call it that.  He calls it living a life of “GREAT WORK.”

Here’s how Michael defines Great Work…

“Great Work is what we all want more of.

This is the work that is meaningful to you, that has an impact and makes a difference.

It inspires, stretches, and provides.

Great Work is the work that matters.”

He goes on to describe “Great Work” as the “source of both deep comfort and engagement — often you feel as if you’re in the ‘flow zone,’ where time stands still and you’re working at your best, effortlessly.”

When I think of Renae in her blog, I see that when she describes her desire to live as a “GREAT ARTIST,” I feel in my heart that she is doing her “Great Work,” as described by Michael.

Michael also says, and Renae’s blog illustrates it as well, that “Great Work is also a place of uncertainty and discomfort.”  He explains that…

“The discomfort arises because the work is often new and challenging,

and so there’s an element of risk and possible failure.

Because this is work that matters, work that you care about,

you don’t want to fail.

But because it’s new and challenging,

there’s a chance that it might.”

Oh how that message is hitting home for me right now! Right now my husband and I are considering in investing (potentially a LOT of money) in an opportunity that is totally inspiring to me, but is right now, bringing up all my *STUFF* around failure….

ANYWAY… I wanted to connect you with these two inspiring resources to perhaps get you thinking more about living a Life of Authenticity

#1 – Renae’s blog entry (go ahead… give her a comment, so that she can win the contest 🙂

#2 – Michael Stanier’s book, “DO GREAT WORK” (if you buy today, you will also receive for F*R*E*E his wonderful eBook, “Be Courageous,” which normally sells for $25)

Love and light to you… xoxo, Coco

2 Responses to “The Quest for An Authentic Life”

  1. Great Work Quote 66: I feel a very unusual sensation. If it is not indigestion, I think it must be… | The Great Work Blog Says:

    […] Lee, Jen Louden, Mark Silver, Coco Fossland, Viki Winterton, Michael Neill, Peggy McColl, Laura Berman Fortgang, Jamie Broughton, Sabrina […]

  2. Johnb309 Says:

    Thank you for every other informative blog. The place else may just I get that type of info written in such a perfect means? I’ve a project that I’m just now working on, and I have been at the glance out for such information. abkbabdefecd

Leave a Reply

